

Special Meeting of the District 17 Board of Directors November 7, 2023, via Zoom Video Conference

Present: Liz Hamilton (President), Cindy Shoemaker (National Board), Bill Curtis, Lakin

Hines, Neil Hunter, JoAnne Lowe, Steve Nordberg, Jennifer O'Neill, Bill Phillips,

Steve Reynolds, Sharon Smith

Also Attending: Kitty Larson

THE PRESIDENT CALLED THE MEETING TO ORDER AT 8:00 AM MST

Discussion of proposal to change the Bylaws, Article V, to read as follows:

The District 17 Board of Directors shall consist of between seven (7) and nine (9) members with geographical representation. The Board of Directors may, subject to the restrictions below, increase or decrease the size of the Board of Directors. This change will be effective as determined by the board. If the board is decreased, it does not shorten the term of an incumbent Director. All Directors must be members in good standing of the ACBL as well as members of the Units of one of the Units of the area they represent if there are multiple Units.

Each Unit will be assigned to one of the geographical areas within D17. These geographical areas are defined as Arizona & Southern Nevada (if required), New Mexico & Texas, and Colorado & Southern Wyoming.

Single units represented by one District board member are: Unit 354 (Phoenix), Unit 356 (Tucson), Unit 361 (Denver), Unit 351 (Mesa,) and Unit 373 (Las Vegas). Other units with a smaller number of members have been combined for the purpose of board representation into geographical areas. These are: Units 355 and 358 (Arizona at Large); Units 360 and 363 (Eastern Colorado); Units 359, 364, 421, and 422 (Colorado and Southern Wyoming); Units 374, 381, 383, 159, 376, 380, and 388 (New Mexico and Texas).

Each D17 Unit will have board representation. No unit will have more than one representative.

The D17 ACBL Board representative to the National Board shall be an at-large voting Board member and shall not be counted against that District Director's home unit.

The voting area for each Board seat may be adjusted by the Board from time to time.

Motion to adopt the above change in Article V by Liz Hamilton. Seconded by Jennifer O'Neill. Vote was 10 in favor, 1 opposed. Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 8:40 AM MST.